The winner of the Public Library of the Year Award 2016

Dokk1 in Aarhus, Denmark wins title of public library of the year.


Dokk1 in Aarhus, Denmark

Out of four libraries from Australia, the US, and Denmark nominated for the Systematic Public Library of the Year which is awarded to the world’s best public library, Dokk1 wins the title of Public Library of the Year.

Our sincere congratulations!

The four nominees were:

  • Chicago Public Library, Chinatown Branch, USA
  • Dokk1, Aarhus, Denmark
  • Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Australia
  • Success Public Library, Australia


The library was honored during the IFLA Congress in Columbus, Ohio.

Dokk1 appears on the shortlist for the World Architecture Festival’s Building of the Year award. (Read more at  ArchDaily.)

About the prize

The ‘Systematic – Public Library of the Year’ award is part of the ‘Model Programme for Public Libraries’ project of the Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces and Realdania, and the prize is sponsored by the IT firm Systematic.

The purpose of the programme is to develop the library of the future, so it takes into account, among other things, digital developments, user demands, local culture, and the desire to accommodate diverse population groups with an open and functional architectural expression.

The library must be a newly-built or refurbished in buildings that have not previously been used as a library. The opening of the new library must have taken place in the period between 1 January 2014 and 1 June 2016. The prize is for $5000.

Read more about the nominees and the library of the future at the Model Programme’s homepage

Public Library of the Year 2016, Dokk1, Aarhus, Denmark



Leave a comment





Web content



Contact with the proposer of The winner of the Public Library of the Year Award 2016 project